Not tracking entire ride / Pause & Resume tracking
Scenic tracks your ride after you tap the ‘Start’ button. It records your coordinates every few meters.
Auto Pause & Auto Resume
Scenic detects when you are not moving for more than 2 minutes. If so, it will auto-pause the ride tracking. It will however continue to monitor your location so that it can auto-resume the ride if you are further away than 100 meters from the location where the tracking was paused.
Manual Pause & Manual Resume
Next to auto-pause and auto-resume you can also manually pause and resume the ride tracking, by using the pause/resume button in the tracking stats panel which appears when you tap the bottom bar during a navigation session.
Auto Resume only works:
- If Scenic is in the foreground ór if Scenic is in the background and has ALWAYS location access (Check iOS Settings App > Scenic).
If Scenic is in the background and does not have ‘ALWAYS’ location access, iOS will turn off the GPS receiver / stop sending coordinates to Scenic after Scenic has been in the background for a short time while not moving (usually 1 or 2 minutes). This means Scenic can’t detect anymore if you moved further away than 100 meters from your pause location, and tracking will remain paused, until you bring Scenic to foreground again or until you manually resume the ride tracking.
- If you did not turn off ‘Auto-Resume’ through the Tracking Stats panel (appears when tapping bottom bar during navigation)
- If you did not choose ‘GPS OFF’ when you manually paused the ride tracking